Just another WordPress.com site

Tribute to Water

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Friday! 


I got woken up by the fire alarm before 9am. I have a few words to say to the individual who scheduled a fire drill on the only day this week I had a chance to sleep in. And not kinds one either.


Instead of standing around in the cold outside waiting for them to turn it off, I headed to the gym. Fridays are becoming my cycling days! I cycled 20 miles in under an hour. 


Workout Stats:

Total Distance:
Time Taken:
Pace:
20.00 mi
00:59:10
02:57 (avg)   
Speed: 20.28 (mi/hr) (avg)

The girl on the bike next to me was driving me up the wall. She kept glancing over at my speed/millage every other minute. Very rude! I also had a few words I wanted to say to her. And once again, not kind ones.
I think she was trying to keep up with me though? So maybe I should be flattered?

Now onto the big topic- WATER!

You either love it or hate it.

I have been on both sides.
I would never drink water as a kid. It didn’t have any flavor to it, what was the point? I would wrinkle my nose in disgust when given water to take medicine with. During meals I would either have milk or pop. Lots of pop. I soon realized how many calories my daily intake of pop really was, so I switched to the diet version.

My “substance” of choice was Diet Coke.

(source)

I am also a huge fan of Jones Soda!
There is something about the glass bottle and the unique pictures that makes them irresistible.


(source)
My favorite flavor is Berry Lemonade.

(source)

While I still treat myself to Jones Soda and Diet Coke, it is very rare. I’ve realized how horrible my body feels when I drink pop- bloated and nauseous.

Now, I drink water like it’s my job. Bottles and bottles of water.

For someone my age, I know it’s really important to get enough calcium, so I drink a glass of skim milk in the morning. The rest of my beverages for the day are water.  While, before I used to drink pop with lunch and dinner, I now find it odd. Why would I want to drink a flavored beverage with my meal? It takes away from the taste of the yummy food I am having. Plus, instead of wasting empty calories on pop, I can splurge on dessert or have seconds!

I’m sure you know your body needs water, but do you know just how important it is?

Functions of Water in the Body
The human body is anywhere from 55% to 78% water depending on body size. A rule of thumb, 2/3 of body is consists of water, and it is the main component of human body. Did you know that your tissues and organs are mainly made up of water? Here is the %

  • Muscle consists of 75% water
  • Brain consists of 90% of water
  • Bone consists of 22% of water
  • Blood consists of 83% water
The functions of water in human body are vital. The water:
  • Transport nutrients and oxygen into cells
  • Moisturizes the air in lungs
  • Helps with metabolism
  • Protect our vital organ
  • Helps our organs to absorb nutrients better
  • Regulates body temperature
  • Detoxifies
  • Protect and moisturizes our joints
If you’re still not convinced, here are some more reason to drink water!

Lose weight: Drinking water helps you lose weight because it flushes down the by-products of fat breakdown. Drinking water reduces hunger, it’s an effective appetite suppressant so you’ll eat less. Plus, water has zero calories.

Natural Remedy for Headache: Helps to relieve headache and back pains due to dehydration. Although there are many other reasons contribute to headache, dehydration is the common one.

Look Younger with Healthier Skin: You’ll look younger when your skin is properly hydrated. Water helps to replenish skin tissues, moisturizes skin and increase skin elasticity. (Yes please!)

Better Exercise: Drinking water regulates your body temperature. You’ll feel more energetic when doing exercises and water helps to fuel your muscles.

Helps in Digestion and Constipation: Drinking water raises your metabolism because it helps in digestion. Fiber and water goes hand in hand so that you can have your daily bowel movement

Less Cramps and Sprains: Proper hydration helps keep your joints and muscles lubricated, so you’ll less likely get cramps and sprains.

Relieves Fatigue: Water is used by the body to help flush out toxins and waste products from the body. If your body lacks of water, your heart, for instance, need to work harder to pump out the oxygenated blood to all cells, so are the rest of the vital organs, your organs will be exhausted and so are you.

Reduce the Risk of Cancer: Related to the digestive system, some studies show that drinking a healthy amount of water may reduce the risks of bladder cancer and colon cancer. Water dilutes the concentration of cancer-causing agents in the urine and shortens the time in which they are in contact with bladder lining.
Have I transformed you into a water drinker? 

This December, I am taking part in the NoFizz Challenge

The rules are simple:
1) The challenge starts on the 1st of every month, and lasts 30 days. It is free.
2) Drink 60 ounces of water every day for the entire 30-Day Challenge.
3) Avoid soda. We challenge you to make the effort to limit or completely stop soda consumption for the duration of the 30-day campaign.
4) When you register, we’ll e-mail you a packet of information on ways to drink more water, facts and studies on hydration and health, tricks for avoiding sugars, healthier alternatives to soft drinks, and ways to be active!
Although, it’s already past the first of the month, you can sign up for this challenge another month! I will keep you all updated on my progress.
3 responses

  1. I used to drink SO much diet coke, and now I'm all about the water!! I bet the girl at the gym was just trying to keep up with you- be flattered!

    December 5, 2010 at 6:35 pm

  2. I drink water like it's my job! Do you have a water filter? I bought a Brita and swear it saves me a boat load!

    December 6, 2010 at 3:00 am

  3. Hi Matt! I actually don't have one but I have been dropping some not so subtle hints that I want one for Christmas!P.S. I love your blog!

    December 6, 2010 at 4:06 am

Leave a Reply

